PhotoEditor.ai logo
Photo Editing · Background Removal

PhotoEditor.ai

PhotoEditor.ai is a browser-based suite of 30+ purpose-built AI image tools covering cleanup, background removal, upscaling, restoration and image generation, each running the model chosen for that task. Three tools are free, with no account required.

Active Free plan Freemium API available Verified by Guidaio
Overview

What is PhotoEditor.ai?

PhotoEditor.ai is a browser-based platform for editing and generating images with AI. Its premise is the opposite of the all-in-one editor: instead of a single canvas buried under menus, it offers 30+ purpose-built tools, each on its own page with its own workspace and settings. The site groups them into seven families, AI Edit, AI Generators, AI Enhance, AI Remover, AI Background, AI Watermark Removers and SVG Converter, although the home page funnel says six. Twenty-three are named in the navigation, among them AI Photo Editor, Inpaint, AI Image Extender, AI Image Combiner, AI Chat Editor, Magic Eraser, Text Remover, Remove BG, AI Background Changer, Background Blur, Upscale, Creative Upscale, Restore Old Photos, AI Image Generator, AI Portrait Generator, AI Logo Maker, AI SVG Generator and AI Dance Generator.

The second premise is model choice. Every tool runs a default model selected by internal benchmarking on character consistency, prompt adherence, edge fidelity, latency and cost, and the user can switch models from the settings rail at any time. The named line-up includes Nano Banana, Nano Banana 2 and Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 1.5, Gemini, Seedream 4.0, 4.5 and 5.0, Qwen, Flux and Flux Kontext, Imagen 4 and Ideogram v3, alongside in-house fine-tunes branded PhotoEditor.ai.

Access is deliberately frictionless. Cleanup, Remove Background and Enhance run without an account and without a watermark, with downloads capped at 720px; HD, 4K and the rest of the suite require a subscription. Inputs are JPG, PNG, HEIC, AVIF and WEBP up to 15 MB, outputs JPG or PNG. Most edits are announced in under ten seconds, with generation and 4K upscaling taking up to a minute. Everything runs in any browser, on iPhone and Android included, with no application to install.

What the publisher does not disclose is just as notable. The contacts page describes a small bootstrapped team and gives an email address; no company name, postal address or registry number appears anywhere, and the terms point only to Estonian law and the courts of Tallinn. The audience figures shown on the pricing page, 5M+ users and 4.4 out of 5 from 23,756 reviews, are the site's own claims, published without a source.

What it does

  • Edit a photo by describing the change in plain language, by brushing over an area, or by supplying a reference image
  • Remove objects, people, text, watermarks, power lines and reflections, together with the shadows they cast
  • Cut out, replace or blur a background and export a transparent PNG
  • Upscale 2x, 4x or 8x up to 4K and 8K, and deblur, denoise or restore old scans
  • Generate images, portraits, logos and vectors from a prompt or a reference image
  • Extend the frame beyond the original edges with outpainting and uncropping
  • Convert a raster image into SVG, or animate a still photo into a short video
Audience

When to use PhotoEditor.ai / When not to

A quick filter to help you decide if PhotoEditor.ai is the right fit.

When to use PhotoEditor.ai

  • E-commerce sellers and marketplace merchants cleaning up product shots in bulk, one testimonial citing a batch of 300+ marketplace images
  • Real estate agents and property managers decluttering interiors and erasing power lines or bins from listing photos
  • Social media managers and advertisers producing ad visuals, blog covers and brand assets without opening a professional editor
  • Freelancers and small-business owners who need a logo, a portrait or an SVG vector without a design brief
  • Individuals restoring old family scans, deblurring photos or upscaling them to 4K and 8K, from a phone browser as easily as a desktop

When not to use PhotoEditor.ai

  • Retouchers who need manual, layer-by-layer control on complex composites: the site itself points them to Photoshop
  • Organisations with formal compliance requirements, since no DPA, no named subprocessor, no GDPR mention, no company name and no postal address are published
  • Users wanting a native desktop or mobile application, or offline editing: everything runs in the browser, with no App Store or Play Store presence
  • Developers who need a production API now, as the API page announces "API Access Coming Soon" with access granted on request only
  • Buyers picking the cheapest plan for commercial work, because Starter is marked "For Personal Use Only" and free downloads are capped at 720px
Get started

How to use PhotoEditor.ai

A typical end-to-end flow, from setup to results.

  1. Open photoeditor.ai in any browser: there is nothing to install, and no account is needed for the free tools
  2. Add your image by browsing your files, dragging and dropping it, or pasting it with Ctrl+V or Cmd+V (JPG, PNG, HEIC, AVIF or WEBP, up to 15 MB)
  3. Or start from one of the sample images offered next to the upload area if you only want to test the tool
  4. Pick the tool that matches your task among the 30+ available, each with its own page and workspace
  5. Describe the change in the prompt field, up to 1,000 characters on the home page editor and 500 on the Cleanup page, or reuse a pre-filled example such as replace background, change hair color or remove power lines
  6. Alternatively brush over the area to fix, or supply a reference image, depending on the tool
  7. Open the Model menu in the settings rail if you want a model other than the tool's benchmarked default
  8. Run the edit with the tool's action button (Apply Edits, Clean, Generate Image) and wait: under ten seconds for most edits, up to a minute for generation and 4K upscaling
  9. Download the result: standard quality is free and watermark-free up to 720px, while HD, 4K and 8K require a paid plan
  10. Create an account and subscribe if you need the premium tools, since image generation and upscaling are not part of the free tier
Quick read

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Three tools, Cleanup, Remove Background and Enhance, are usable free of charge, without an account and without a watermark
  • Broad functional coverage, with 30+ tools where competitors bill cutout, upscaling and generation separately
  • Explicit choice of the underlying model, unusual at this price point, with recent named engines such as Nano Banana Pro, Seedream 5.0, GPT Image 1.5, Imagen 4, Ideogram v3 and Flux Kontext
  • Low entry price at 9 USD per month on the standing promotion, against a 15 USD list price
  • Nothing to install: the same tools run on desktop and on iPhone or Android through the browser alone
  • Editing driven by plain language rather than masks and selections, with most edits announced in under ten seconds and no queue
  • Short retention claimed on the home page (one hour), no training on uploaded images, a 14-day money-back guarantee and cancellation at any time

Cons

  • No legal identity published: no company name, no postal address and no registry number, only an email address
  • No GDPR mention, no DPA, no named subprocessor and no declared hosting country or region
  • Contradictory retention wording: images deleted within 1 hour on the home and cleanup pages, within 24 hours on the generator and upscale pages
  • Contradictory commercial-use rules: the home page and pricing FAQ allow it, yet Starter is marked "For Personal Use Only" and the Commercial Use License appears on Pro only
  • The free offer is prominent although the image generator and the upscaler both require a paid plan, and free downloads are capped at 720px
  • The API is presented as a product on its own page, then announced as coming soon and granted on request only
  • No native application and no offline mode, an English-only interface, and no published per-operation credit cost or credit roll-over rule
Pricing

Pricing & Plans

A permanent free tier is available: Cleanup, Remove Background and Enhance can be used without an account and without a watermark, with downloads capped at 720px. Paid access starts at 9.00 USD per month with the Starter plan, a promotional price displayed permanently as 40% off a 15 USD list price; Pro is 15 USD per month (25 USD list) and Business 35 USD per month (49 USD list). Billing shown on the site is monthly, and the pricing FAQ mentions an annual plan saving 41% without publishing the annual amount. Payment is taken by Visa, Mastercard or American Express through Stripe. Subscriptions may be cancelled at any time, with access retained until the end of the paid period and no pro-rata refund, and a 14-day money-back guarantee applies to a first subscription. No student or non-profit rate is offered.

Plan 1
Free tier (no commercial name)
  • 0 USD - Cleanup
  • Remove Background and Enhance
  • no account required
  • no watermark
  • downloads capped at 720px
Pro - 15.00 USD per month, list price 25 USD - 600 credits per month - flagged Most Popular
  • four times the Starter credits
  • full access to every tool
  • premium models
  • unlimited history storage
  • commercial use licence
  • early access to new features
  • chat-guided editing
  • Portrait Generator
Plan 4
Business
  • 35.00 USD per month
  • list price 49 USD - 1
  • 700 credits per month - twelve times the Starter credits
  • everything in Pro
  • all tools and all premium models
  • dedicated support
Special offers — Limited time - 40% off all plans, displayed permanently on the home page and the pricing page: 9, 15 and 35 USD per month instead of the 15, 25 and 49 USD list prices · Annual billing announced in the pricing FAQ as saving 41% compared with monthly, without the annual amount being published · 14-day money-back guarantee on a first subscription · Three permanently free tools, Cleanup, Remove Background and Enhance, without watermark and without an account · No student, non-profit or unemployment discount is offered
Prices and plans listed above may evolve. Always check the official pricing page before subscribing.
Trust & Privacy

Data, GDPR & hosting

A consolidated view of how PhotoEditor.ai handles your data.

GDPR overview

No page collected on this site mentions the GDPR: neither "GDPR" nor "General Data Protection" appears anywhere in the pages reviewed. The privacy policy, updated 26 March 2026, does list user rights, being informed, knowing what is collected, correcting, updating, requesting deletion, restricting or objecting, and refusing a decision based solely on automated processing, but it attaches them to no legal text. No lawful basis is cited, no Article 27 representative and no data protection officer are designated, and no transfer mechanism is described beyond the statement that data is only transferred "within jurisdictions subject to data protection laws that reflect our commitment", without naming those jurisdictions. The only age rule cited is COPPA, a United States statute covering children under 13. The terms are governed by Estonian law, with courts in Tallinn. Data requests go to hi@photoeditor.ai.

Who owns the data?

The terms contain no clause transferring ownership of uploaded images: End Products are described as created by the user, and the home page states that the AI outputs are yours to use commercially, the user remaining responsible for the rights on the source image. That permission is not uniform, since the Starter plan is nonetheless marked "For Personal Use Only". For personal data (name, email, date of birth, photo, social profiles, plus IP, device and location logs), the publisher claims custody rather than ownership: it says it does not sell or rent personal information to marketers or third parties, and it grants rights of correction, update and deletion. No company is named as controller, only the domain itself.

Reuse rights

Results can be reused without asking permission: the home page states that AI outputs are yours to use commercially, with responsibility for the source-image rights left to the user. The permission is not consistent across the site, as the Starter plan is labelled "For Personal Use Only" and a Commercial Use License is listed on Pro only. On the publisher's side, collected data is used to run and improve the service, understand visitors and send updates or promotional content, with an unsubscribe option; aggregated and anonymised versions may be shared, for example in trend reports. Unnamed categories of third parties are involved (analytics, authentication, advertising and promotion, content marketing, email marketing), and external consultants or agencies may be granted access for the duration of a task. Payments are processed by Stripe. On training, the site is categorical: uploads are "never used for AI model training", so no opt-out is offered because no training is claimed.

Data retention & training

Retention summary
Uploaded images are said to be deleted quickly, but the site gives two figures and never reconciles them: within 1 hour on the home page and the cleanup page, within 24 hours on the image generator and upscale pages. The API page states only automatic deletion after processing. Personal data carries no figure at all: it is kept for as long as necessary to provide or improve the service, and a deletion request is honoured within a reasonable timeframe. No duration is published for account data, logs or cookies, and no anonymisation schedule is described beyond the possible sharing of aggregated, anonymised data. Rendered images are nonetheless stored on the product side, since the Pro plan advertises unlimited history storage. The privacy policy is dated 26 March 2026.
Trains on customer data
No
GDPR contact

Hosting summary

The site declares no hosting country and no hosting region. The privacy policy says only that personal information is "stored and processed in, or where we or our partners, affiliates and third-party providers maintain facilities", and that transfers are limited to jurisdictions subject to data protection laws reflecting the publisher's commitment, without naming a single one. The security claims concern transport and processing rather than location: uploads are described as encrypted in transit and processed in isolated workers, and the API page adds encryption at rest with automatic deletion after processing. The only jurisdictional anchor in the documentation is the governing-law clause of the terms, which designates Estonia and the courts of Tallinn; that is a choice of law, not a statement about where servers sit. Externally, the domain resolves to Cloudflare (AS13335, anycast IP 104.26.0.13) and the registrar is NameCheap in the United States, which describes the CDN in front of the site and says nothing about where images are actually processed or accounts stored. In practice, the hosting jurisdiction cannot be determined from what the publisher publishes.

Availability

Where PhotoEditor.ai works

Country-level availability.

Not available in

Countries under United States embargo: the terms forbid using the service from an embargoed countryIndividuals listed on the United States Treasury Department's list of Specially Designated Nationals are barred from using the serviceNo other geographic restriction is published: the site states it makes no representation that the website is appropriate or available for use in all locations, and leaves compliance with local law to the user. The interface is available in English only
Watch-outs

Things to keep in mind

Risks and trade-offs to weigh before adopting PhotoEditor.ai.

  • The publisher is unidentified: no company name, no postal address and no registry number anywhere on the site. The only legal trace is a clause designating Estonian law and the courts of Tallinn, and a single email address serves as legal, privacy and support contact
  • Retention is stated two ways and never reconciled: uploads deleted within 1 hour on the home and cleanup pages, within 24 hours on the generator and upscale pages. Assume the longer figure if you upload anything sensitive
  • Commercial use is contradictory: the home page and pricing FAQ allow it, the Starter plan is marked "For Personal Use Only" and the Commercial Use License is listed on Pro only, so the cheapest plan may not cover work you intend to sell
  • No GDPR mention, no DPA, no named subprocessor and no declared hosting country: uploading identifiable faces, client photos or documents means sending them into a jurisdiction the site does not disclose
  • The free framing is only partly true: the image generator and the upscaler require a paid plan, free downloads are capped at 720px, the 40% discount is displayed permanently, and the API is sold on its own page then announced as coming soon
  • Social proof cannot be checked: the 5M+ users and the 4.4 out of 5 from 23,756 reviews are self-declared with no source, and the pricing page repeats identical testimonials several times over
  • The terms are as is, with a broad warranty exclusion and account termination at the publisher's sole discretion. The human risk of one-click editing is real too: erasing a power line is harmless, erasing a person from a news or evidentiary photo is not, so keep your originals and disclose AI edits where honesty matters
Setup

Setup & Integrations

Technical difficulty

Minimal. Nothing to install, no plugin and no design skill required: the flow is three steps, upload, choose the tool, download. Images are added by file browser, drag and drop or keyboard paste, and edits are described in plain text rather than drawn with masks or selections. Cleanup, Remove Background and Enhance need no account at all, while everything else requires signing up and subscribing. The only optional technical decision is picking a model in the settings rail, and each tool ships with a benchmarked default. Constraints: 15 MB per file, and JPG, PNG, HEIC, AVIF or WEBP inputs.

Deployment

Web appAPI

Supported languages

English
Company

Behind PhotoEditor.ai

Company name
INFORMATION_NOT_FOUND
Founded
27/07/2022
Country of origin
🇪🇪 Estonia
UBO
INFORMATION_NOT_FOUND
UBO country
INFORMATION_NOT_FOUND
Domain registrar country
🇺🇸 United States
Legal contact
Support contact

Social

Official links

Resources

All the official URLs gathered for verification and reference.

Compare

Alternatives

Tools that compete with or complement PhotoEditor.ai.

P PhotoshopC CanvaP PicsartG GeminiC ChatGPT
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is PhotoEditor.ai free to use?
Three tools are free without any subscription: Cleanup, Remove Background and Enhance. They require no signup and produce watermark-free downloads, but output is capped at 720px. HD, 4K and the rest of the 30+ tool suite require a paid plan.
Do I need to create an account?
Not for the free tools, which run straight from the browser. An account and a subscription are required for the premium tools, including the image generator and the upscaler.
Which file formats and file sizes are accepted?
JPG, PNG, HEIC, AVIF and WEBP are accepted, up to 15 MB per file. Results are delivered as high-quality JPG or PNG.
Which AI models does PhotoEditor.ai run?
The site names Nano Banana, Nano Banana 2 and Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image, Gemini, Seedream 4.0, 4.5 and 5.0, Qwen, Flux, Flux Kontext, Imagen 4 and Ideogram v3, plus in-house fine-tunes. Each tool has a default model chosen by internal benchmarking, and you can switch model from the settings rail.
How long does an edit take?
The site announces under ten seconds for most edits, and up to a minute for image generation and 4K upscaling.
Are my images used to train AI models, and how long are they kept?
The publisher states that uploads are never used for AI model training. On retention the site contradicts itself and does not resolve it: deletion within 1 hour is announced on the home and cleanup pages, deletion within 24 hours on the generator and upscale pages.
Can I use the results commercially?
This depends on where you read it. The home page and the pricing FAQ allow commercial use of the outputs, with the user responsible for the rights on the source image, but the Starter plan is marked "For Personal Use Only" and the Commercial Use License is listed on Pro only. Check the plan wording before selling work produced on Starter.
Is there a mobile app?
No. Everything runs in the browser, including on iPhone and Android. The site presents this as a feature: no App Store, no Play Store and no permissions to accept.
How do I pay, and can I get a refund?
Visa, Mastercard and American Express are accepted through Stripe. Subscriptions can be cancelled at any time, with access kept until the end of the paid period and no pro-rata refund, and a 14-day money-back guarantee applies to a first subscription.
Is there an API?
There is an API page describing a REST interface, key authentication and Python, JavaScript and React SDKs, but access is announced as coming soon and is granted on request through b2b@photoeditor.ai.
Conclusion

Should you pick PhotoEditor.ai?

PhotoEditor.ai makes a clear bet: rather than one general-purpose editor, it gives each task its own page, cleanup here, background removal there, upscaling, restoration, logo and image generation elsewhere, and lets the user choose which model runs the job. For a browser tool with nothing to install and no account for its three free utilities, that coverage at 9 USD a month on promotion, 15 USD at list price, is a favourable ratio, and plain-language editing removes the masks and selections that keep casual users away from professional software.

The reservations concern the publisher more than the product. No company name, no postal address, no registry number and no GDPR framework appear anywhere on the site; the only legal anchor is a clause designating Estonian law and the courts of Tallinn. The documentation also contradicts itself on two points the site never settles: uploads are said to be deleted within one hour on the home and cleanup pages, and within 24 hours on the generator and upscale pages, while commercial use is granted broadly on the home page and pricing FAQ yet the Starter plan is marked For Personal Use Only. The audience figures displayed, 5M+ users and 4.4 out of 5 from 23,756 reviews, are the site's own claims, published without a source.

Freelancers, e-commerce sellers, real estate agents, community managers and individuals restoring family photos will get value quickly, and can test the promise for free before paying anything. Teams under compliance obligations, retouchers needing manual control over complex composites, and developers waiting on an API still announced as coming soon should look elsewhere or wait. Try the free tools first, and read the retention wording on the specific page of the tool you intend to use.