COUNT logo
Financial Analysis · Report Generation

COUNT

COUNT is an AI-native accounting platform that unifies a full general ledger with practice management. It automates transaction categorization, reconciliation, bills, invoicing, receipts, time tracking and real-time reporting for founders, small businesses and accounting firms.

Active Free trial Subscription No public API 18+ Verified by Guidaio
Overview

What is COUNT?

COUNT describes itself as an AI-native accounting operating system, and the site tagline, Accounting On Autopilot, sets the tone: the software is meant to do the bookkeeping, not merely record it. It is published by COUNT Financial Inc., a fully remote company.

For businesses, COUNT is a full general ledger. Bank and card connections, with over 13,000 native connectors claimed, pull in transactions, which the AI categorizes with up to 95% accuracy from day one and refines as it learns the company's vendors and patterns. Receipts are captured in COUNT Go, the mobile companion app, which extracts the details and matches each one to the bank feed. Accounts payable runs on drag and drop, then approval. Accounts receivable covers invoices, card and ACH payments, automatic reminders and deposit matching. An anomaly engine flags duplicates, unusual amounts and unknown vendors. Books are kept on a cash or accrual basis, with P&L, balance sheet and trial balance exports, and reports update in real time.

For accounting and bookkeeping firms, the pitch is Zero Context Switching: general ledger, practice management and client collaboration in one platform instead of two. The Monthly Close Wizard runs a guided checklist with A/R and A/P aging, variance analysis and a preparer-reviewer workflow backed by an audit trail. A client portal handles document requests, report sharing and live status. Collaboration sits inside the ledger itself: any transaction can be commented on, a colleague or the accountant @mentioned, and a question turned into a task. Time and billing is included.

AI shows up in two forms: COUNT AI, a chat assistant included on the Pro plan, and an MCP server that lets Claude and ChatGPT act inside the workspace. Bank connections stay read-only throughout, so COUNT reads the data but cannot move money.

The publisher is young. Its About page claims $0.1B processed, 1,000+ companies, and roughly 1,000 bills and 1,000 invoices handled per month. COUNT was founded by Chris Smith, CEO and co-founder, and Derek Harn, co-founder, with engineers who previously worked at Meta and Amazon.

What it does

  • Categorize incoming bank transactions automatically, with up to 95% accuracy claimed out of the box
  • Snap a receipt in the mobile app and let it match itself to the right bank transaction
  • Process supplier bills by drag and drop, then approve them
  • Send client invoices and collect payment by card or ACH
  • Close the month through a guided wizard: checklist, A/R and A/P aging, variance analysis
  • Flag duplicates, unusual amounts and suspicious vendors automatically
  • Query the books in plain language through the built-in COUNT AI chat, or through Claude and ChatGPT over MCP
Audience

When to use COUNT / When not to

A quick filter to help you decide if COUNT is the right fit.

When to use COUNT

  • Accounting and bookkeeping firms that want the general ledger, practice management and client collaboration in one place, the "Zero Context Switching" argument COUNT builds its firm offer around
  • Small businesses and startup founders who keep the books themselves, without a dedicated finance team
  • Commerce and retail operators, and construction and trade businesses, the two other industries COUNT addresses by name alongside entrepreneurs and startups
  • Teams leaving QuickBooks Online or Xero, for which COUNT documents an export-then-import path and advertises one-click migration
  • Employers with staff or contractors, since payroll, time tracking and expense reports feed straight back into the ledger

When not to use COUNT

  • Businesses outside the United States that need native payroll: the payroll add-on is explicitly US-only
  • Developers and teams that need a public API, since COUNT publishes no developer documentation and the only programmatic route is an MCP server for AI assistants
  • Anyone looking for a permanently free tool: there is a 30-day trial but no free tier
  • Mid-volume bookkeeping on the entry plan, as Starter caps at 50 transactions per month and 2 bank connections
  • Non-English-speaking teams, because the interface and the help center are available in English only
Get started

How to use COUNT

A typical end-to-end flow, from setup to results.

  1. Create an account in the COUNT web app and start the 30-day free trial, with no sales call required
  2. Connect bank accounts and credit cards through read-only connectors; transactions and statements import automatically
  3. If you are coming from QuickBooks Online or Xero, follow the documented export-then-import migration path
  4. Let the AI categorize incoming transactions and correct it where needed, since it learns from the corrections
  5. Invite unlimited team members and your accountant with role-based access; employees do not see accounting views unless allowed
  6. Install COUNT Go on mobile for staff and contractors: receipts, expense reports, time tracking, invoices and estimates
  7. Set up automation rules, limited to 3 on Starter and unlimited on the plans above
  8. Run the month-end close through the Monthly Close Wizard, from checklist to variance analysis
  9. Optionally connect Claude or ChatGPT over MCP, with explicit permissions and approvals
  10. Use email and live chat support on every plan, plus the help center; Pro adds a dedicated account manager
Quick read

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • General ledger and practice management in a single platform, which removes the back-and-forth between two tools for firms
  • Low entry price at USD 15 per month for the functional coverage offered, with a 30-day trial on all three plans and no misleading free tier
  • Read-only bank connections: COUNT states that it cannot change banking data or move money
  • SOC 2 Type II with a public Trust Center, around forty continuously monitored controls and a named list of subprocessors
  • An explicit published AI position, set out as eight numbered principles, a level of detail rarely put in writing
  • Documented migration from QuickBooks Online and Xero, plus email and live chat support included on every plan
  • Data export available at any time and read-only access to history retained after cancellation

Cons

  • No postal address is published anywhere: no legal notice, no address on the contact page, which is a form only, and nothing in the footer
  • The terms of service and privacy policy are rendered client-side in JavaScript and return no readable text, which makes them hard to read, archive or verify before signing up
  • GDPR is never mentioned on the site, no Article 27 EU representative is designated and no data processing agreement is published or offered on request
  • A tension remains between the AI principles, which state that no customer data is shared with external large language models, and OpenAI being declared as a subprocessor for AI language model services
  • No permanently free plan, and Starter is tightly capped at 50 transactions per month, 2 bank connections, 1 project and 1 GB of storage
  • Native payroll is US-only, there is no public developer API, and the interface and help center are English only
  • COUNT Go is documented but no App Store or Google Play link is published, several key features are still Coming Soon, and the company is young, with a pre-seed round announced in August 2025 and modest published traction of $0.1B processed and 1,000+ companies
Pricing

Pricing & Plans

There is no permanently free plan. COUNT offers a 30-day free trial on all three subscription tiers, and paid access starts at USD 15.00 per month with the Starter plan, followed by Growth at USD 29.00 per month and Pro at USD 99.00 per month, all prices being quoted in US dollars on a monthly basis. Payroll is a separate add-on billed at USD 40.00 per month per workspace plus USD 6.00 per month per active employee or contractor, and is available in the United States only. Payment processing is charged in addition: 2.99% plus USD 0.30 per card transaction, and 1% per ACH transaction, capped at USD 15.00 per month. Exceeding the Starter limits does not remove historical data, but imports may be suspended until the account is upgraded.

Starter, USD 15 per month
  • 2 bank connections
  • 50 transactions per month
  • 1 active project
  • AI bank transaction matching
  • unlimited invoices and estimates
  • 1 GB of storage and 3 automation rules
Pro, USD 99 per month
  • unlimited bank connections
  • advanced AI reasoning models
  • continuous accuracy monitoring
  • the COUNT AI chat
  • a dedicated account manager and 10 GB of storage
Included on all three plans
  • unlimited team members
  • unlimited invoices
  • estimates and bill tracking
  • check printing
  • email and live chat support
  • and the help center
Payroll add-on
  • USD 40 per month per workspace plus USD 6 per month per active person
  • United States only
Employee add-on
  • USD 6 per month per employee
  • covering payroll
  • time tracking
  • expense reports and business tools
Special offers — A 30-day free trial on all three plans, Starter, Growth and Pro · A partner program for accounting firms is announced but not yet open: a waiting list on the accountants page promises preferential pricing, dedicated onboarding, co-marketing and early access · No promo code, no annual discount and no time-limited offer is published on the site
Prices and plans listed above may evolve. Always check the official pricing page before subscribing.
Trust & Privacy

Data, GDPR & hosting

A consolidated view of how COUNT handles your data.

GDPR overview

COUNT publishes no GDPR information at all: the regulation is never mentioned. Across the twenty pages collected, marketing, security, AI principles, help center and archived HTML included, GDPR and CCPA do not appear once. No Article 27 EU representative is designated and no data processing agreement is published or offered. The framework COUNT does display is SOC 2 Type II, through a public Secureframe Trust Center, which is a security standard rather than a data protection one. The privacy policy carries a New Zealand supplement governed by the NZ Privacy Act 2020, and the site serves two regions, the United States and New Zealand. Access and rectification requests go to privacy@getcount.com. One subprocessor, the support tool Crisp, hosts data in France, the only EU data location, with no documented GDPR framework around it. European buyers will have to ask for all of this directly.

Who owns the data?

COUNT states on its Security page that the data belongs to the customer: "Your data is yours to control. We're dedicated to ensuring you decide who can access specific information and when. We never share or sell your data to third parties." Access is governed by role-based permissions and detailed audit logs. Data can be exported at any time, including transactions, reports, invoices and documents, and read-only access to historical records is retained after cancellation. One caveat: none of this is confirmed by contract. The terms of service are rendered client-side in JavaScript and return no readable text, so no ownership or intellectual property clause could be checked.

Reuse rights

Bank and card connections are read-only. COUNT imports transactions and statements and states that it does not, will not and cannot change banking or financial data, so no money movement is possible. Other integrations are read-only as well unless the customer explicitly grants write access. Internally, AI categorizes transactions, matches them, flags anomalies and answers questions in natural language. The AI Principles page claims that no customer data is shared with external large language models and that all responses and insights are generated internally, while the Security page describes automatic redaction of sensitive information and intellectual property during LLM data collection, training, fine-tuning and inference. The Trust Center, however, lists OpenAI as a declared subprocessor for AI language model services with data held in the United States, alongside Azure, Mailersend, Stripe, Vercel and Crisp. Those two statements are difficult to reconcile from public documentation alone.

Data retention & training

Retention summary
According to the privacy policy, subscribers' accounting records are kept for at least seven years, and longer where the law requires it. Financial information is retained for as long as it is needed to provide the service and to serve the purposes set out in the policy. The Trust Center lists matching controls: Retention of Customer Data, Disposal of Customer Data, and a Data Retention and Disposal Policy. Data that is no longer needed can be deleted at the customer's request, under the agreed requirements. Customers can export their data at any time, and read-only access to historical records survives cancellation. No figure is published for the other categories, such as account data, support conversations and logs. One caveat on reliability: the privacy policy is rendered in JavaScript and could only be read through search-engine extracts, so these durations should be confirmed with the publisher.
Trains on customer data
Unclear
Subprocessors disclosed
Yes
GDPR contact

Hosting summary

COUNT runs on Microsoft Azure, with data located in the United States according to its Trust Center, and the front end is deployed on Vercel, also in the United States. Storage sits behind Azure Web Application Firewalls. The data centers are described as having biometric access controls, permanent monitoring, redundant power, fire suppression and controlled climate. Data is replicated across several database servers spread over two geographic zones, and a nightly backup is written to tape and stored off site. Traffic is protected by 256-bit SSL in transit, and encryption at rest is one of the monitored Secureframe controls. Of the six declared subprocessors, one holds data in the European Union: Crisp, the support and messaging tool, hosted in France. The other named subprocessors, Mailersend for email, Stripe for payments and OpenAI for AI language model services, are located in the United States. In practice the accounting data itself lives in the United States, and the only EU footprint is support conversations, with no European legal framework attached to that French hosting anywhere on the site.

Hosting countries
🇺🇸 United States🇫🇷 France
Watch-outs

Things to keep in mind

Risks and trade-offs to weigh before adopting COUNT.

  • No postal address is published anywhere on the site, so there is no physical entity to write to; the fully remote team explains it but does not fix it
  • The terms of service and the privacy policy are rendered in JavaScript on the app domain and cannot be read without a browser, which makes them hard to archive, compare or hold anyone to
  • GDPR is never mentioned, no Article 27 EU representative is named and no data processing agreement is published, which is a real gap for any European business
  • OpenAI is declared as a subprocessor for AI language model services while the AI principles state that no customer data reaches an external LLM, and no training opt-out is documented despite targeted searching: get this clarified before entrusting sensitive books to the platform
  • Subscribers' accounting records are kept for at least seven years under the privacy policy, so cancelling is not the same as erasure
  • Leaning on automatic categorization without reviewing it is the classic trap: COUNT itself rejects black-box accounting and keeps a human in the loop, and the claimed accuracy is up to 95%, not 100%, so the output is a draft to check rather than a closed set of books
  • The domain was registered in 2008 and first archived in 2013, long before the current company, so domain age says nothing about its track record; payroll is also restricted to the United States and several structural features remain Coming Soon
Setup

Setup & Integrations

Technical difficulty

Setup is easy and needs no development skills. You sign up online, start the 30-day trial without talking to sales, and connect bank accounts through plug-and-play connectors advertised as requiring no manual import. Migration from QuickBooks Online or Xero is documented in the help center, and the pricing page advertises one-click migration; a dedicated Onboarding & Setup category covers the rest. Employees are invited by email with a temporary password for COUNT Go. Only one step is more technical: connecting Claude or ChatGPT over MCP, which involves permission management. A dedicated account manager is available on Pro only.

Deployment

Web appMobile app

Integrations

Stripe Square Shopify Anchor Claude ChatGPT

Supported languages

English
Company

Behind COUNT

Company name
COUNT Financial Inc.
Founded
13/04/2013
Country of origin
🇺🇸 United States
UBO
INFORMATION_NOT_FOUND
UBO country
INFORMATION_NOT_FOUND
Domain registrar country
🇺🇸 United States
Support contact

Fundraising

Pre-seed round announced on the official blog on Friday 1 August 2025
Named investors: Morgan Stanley's Ventures Lab, Data Tech Fund, First Row Partners, Alliance of Angels, and several partner accounting firms that were already customers
The amount raised was not disclosed by the publisher
Stated use of the funds: the Month-End Close Wizard, wider banking, payroll and payment integrations, and larger onboarding and support teams

Social

Official links

Resources

All the official URLs gathered for verification and reference.

Compare

Alternatives

Tools that compete with or complement COUNT.

Q QuickBooksX XeroT TaxDome
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

How do the bank connections work?
COUNT connects directly to banks and card issuers in read-only mode. It imports transactions and statements, and states that it does not, will not and cannot change your banking or financial data, so no money movement is possible from the platform.
Can COUNT replace QuickBooks or Xero?
That is the publisher's claim. COUNT offers a full general ledger combined with practice management, and advertises one-click migration from the common systems, with the export-then-import steps documented in its help center.
Is there a free plan?
No. There is no permanently free tier, but a 30-day free trial is available on all three plans: Starter, Growth and Pro.
How much does COUNT cost?
Starter is USD 15 per month, Growth USD 29 and Pro USD 99. Payroll is a separate add-on at USD 40 per month plus USD 6 per active person, available in the United States only. Card payments cost 2.99% plus USD 0.30, and ACH 1% capped at USD 15 per month.
Is my data used to train AI models?
This is not settled. The AI Principles page states that no customer data is shared with external large language models and that all responses are generated internally, but OpenAI is listed among the declared subprocessors for AI language model services, and no training opt-out is documented anywhere.
Where is the data hosted?
On Microsoft Azure in the United States, with the front end deployed on Vercel. The support subprocessor Crisp hosts in France, which is the only EU data location.
Is COUNT GDPR compliant?
The site never mentions GDPR. The framework it displays is SOC 2 Type II, through a public Trust Center, together with a New Zealand supplement to the privacy policy governed by the NZ Privacy Act 2020.
What happens to my data if I cancel?
Data can be exported at any time, including transactions, reports, invoices and documents, and read-only access to historical records is retained after cancellation. The privacy policy states that subscribers' accounting records are kept for at least seven years.
Is there a mobile app and an API?
COUNT Go is the documented mobile companion for invoices, estimates, receipts, expense reports and time tracking, but no App Store or Google Play link is published. There is no public developer API; an MCP server lets Claude and ChatGPT act in the workspace with explicit approval.
What support is available?
Email and live chat support are included on all plans, alongside a searchable help center. The Pro plan adds a dedicated account manager.
Conclusion

Should you pick COUNT?

COUNT makes a coherent case for two audiences at once. Small businesses and founders get a full general ledger with AI categorization, receipt capture, bills, invoicing and real-time reporting from USD 15 a month; accounting and bookkeeping firms get that same ledger with practice management, a client portal and a guided monthly close, in one platform rather than two. The security groundwork is serious and, unusually, documented: SOC 2 Type II, a public Trust Center with around forty monitored controls, a named list of subprocessors, read-only bank connections and a published eight-point AI policy.

The legal transparency does not match. No postal address appears anywhere, the contact page is a form and the team is fully remote; the terms of service and the privacy policy are rendered in JavaScript and return no readable text; and GDPR is never mentioned, with no Article 27 representative, no data processing agreement and no documented training opt-out. The two documents that would actually govern the relationship cannot be read before signing up.

One point deserves particular attention. The AI Principles page states that no customer data is shared with external large language models and that all insights are generated internally, while the Trust Center declares OpenAI as a subprocessor for AI language model services and the Security page describes redaction of sensitive data during LLM training and inference. Ask for clarification in writing.

The publisher is also young: the pre-seed round was announced in August 2025, the amount was not disclosed, and the traction figures COUNT publishes itself remain modest. The tool is worth trying, and the 30-day trial exists for that, but read the contract before moving a general ledger onto it.