
Maestro 3D Ortho Studio
Maestro 3D Ortho Studio is the orthodontic module of Dental Studio Expert, an Italian Windows CAD suite for clear aligners. It uses AI to repair scans, segment teeth and trace cutting lines, then exports printable transition models.
What is Maestro 3D Ortho Studio?
Maestro 3D Ortho Studio is the orthodontic module of Maestro 3D Dental Studio Expert, the dental CAD suite published by AGE Solutions S.r.l. in Pontedera, Italy. The site also calls it Ortho Studio Basic in its navigation, and the homepage structured data declares it as a component of Dental Studio Expert rather than a standalone application. Its purpose is narrow and well defined: designing custom-made clear aligners, either for thermoforming or for direct 3D printing.
The module covers the whole chain. A case starts from an STL, PLY or OBJ scan, which the software repairs automatically by removing artefacts, rebuilding small missing areas and refining the edges of intraoral scans. Study models can then be generated on virtual bases such as ABO, ABO-2013, Ricketts, Parallel and Tweed. AI takes over for tooth segmentation, identifying each tooth, tracing its margin line and assigning its number without a single click, then computing the axes, centre of rotation, tip, torque and FA point. Where CBCT data exists, scanned crowns and CBCT roots are merged into one model, and the maxilla, mandible, a 3D face scan and patient photographs can all be imported.
The Virtual Setup is the heart of the module. It is where the target tooth position is defined, with real-time collision detection, contact analysis, interproximal reduction, virtual extraction with automatic gum reconstruction, a virtual pontic for missing teeth, a virtual articulator for occlusion, layers for macro-staging and a library of standard or custom attachments. From that plan the software builds the full set of transition models in seconds and converts them into printable models with wax-ups, undercut removal, hollowing and drainage holes.
Output stays open: STL, PLY and OBJ for any 3D printer, and PTS cutting lines for CNC and laser trimming machines, none of which is named on the site. A PDF treatment report, automatic treatment videos and a cloud-based Web Viewer round out the communication side. Several of the more automated functions, including transition models, printable models, automatic IPR and the AI cutting line, require the paid Expert Mode subscription. The product carries CE MDR (EU) 2017/745 certification, while the site notes that features labelled as AI are not intended for medical use.
What it does
- Segment and number the teeth of a scanned arch automatically with AI, with no clicks
- Plan the final tooth position in the Virtual Setup, with movements, contacts, IPR, extractions and attachments
- Generate the complete series of transition models and turn them into printable models
- Repair defective intraoral scans automatically, rebuilding missing parts and refining edges
- Merge scanned crowns with CBCT roots to work on realistic dental axes
- Trace aligner cutting lines automatically and export them in PTS for CNC or laser trimming
- Produce a customisable PDF treatment report and publish it online for the referring clinician
When to use Maestro 3D Ortho Studio / When not to
A quick filter to help you decide if Maestro 3D Ortho Studio is the right fit.
When to use Maestro 3D Ortho Studio
- Dental laboratories producing clear aligners in series, by thermoforming or by direct 3D printing
- Orthodontists who plan aligner treatments in-house and want to keep the digital setup under their own control
- General dentists who take on aligner cases occasionally and need a pay-per-case tool rather than a subscription
- Practices and labs already equipped with an intraoral or desktop scanner that exports STL, PLY or OBJ files
- Teams that want to standardise repeatable protocols across operators, with a shared workflow and a PDF treatment report for the referring clinician
When not to use Maestro 3D Ortho Studio
- macOS or Linux users: the software runs only on 64-bit Windows 10 and 11
- Anyone looking for a browser-only solution, since only the Web Viewer is online and all design work happens on a local workstation
- Developers who need to drive the software programmatically or plug it into a practice management system, as no API or SDK is published
- Buyers who require a published licence price up front, because the Expert Licence is quoted on request only
- Very low-volume users, for whom a single Ortho Studio Basic case at five credits, roughly 50 EUR, is hard to justify
How to use Maestro 3D Ortho Studio
A typical end-to-end flow, from setup to results.
- Check the hardware first: 64-bit Windows 10 or 11, 16 GB of RAM and an NVIDIA GeForce card as a minimum
- Choose a licence: Expert, with a USB dongle and unlimited cases, or Pay-Per-Use, which is free to install and paid by the case
- Fill in the download form on the site and follow the instructions received by email to install Dental Studio Expert
- Open the pre-loaded work case shipped with the Pay-Per-Use licence to get familiar with the interface before spending credits
- Create a case by uploading the arches, patient photographs and any 3D face scan, then select the Ortho Studio Basic configuration
- Receive the case by email as an .m3d_ppu file and import it into the software
- Let the software repair the input files and segment the teeth automatically, correcting the cut line or numbering by hand if needed
- Build the treatment in the Virtual Setup: movements, contacts, IPR, extractions and attachment placement
- Generate the transition models, convert them into printable models and export them in STL, PLY or OBJ, or in PTS for trimming
- Optionally publish the case to Maestro 3D Cloud so the clinician can review it in the Web Viewer and exchange messages with the lab
Pros & Cons
Pros
- Covers the whole aligner chain in one application, from raw scan to printable model and cutting line
- Genuine, documented AI automation: zero-click segmentation, scan repair and cutting lines, with a claimed 70 to 80 percent reduction in trimming design time
- Open formats in and out, so the software does not lock the lab into a particular scanner or printer brand
- A published unit price, 9.95 EUR per credit, in a market where almost everything is quoted on request
- Pay-Per-Use licence costs nothing to hold, installs on several workstations at once and includes all updates and Expert features
- Purchased cases stay active permanently, with no time limit and no extra charge for exports
- Thirteen interface languages, CE MDR (EU) 2017/745 certification with the certificate downloadable, and a free permanent Viewer for clinicians
Cons
- Windows only, with a demanding hardware baseline of 16 GB of RAM and a dedicated NVIDIA card
- Several core functions, including transition models, printable models and automatic IPR, sit behind the Expert Mode subscription; if it is not renewed the software stops working altogether after two years
- The Expert Licence has no public price and is tied to a USB dongle, so one seat runs at a time
- Privacy documentation is thin and out of date: no mention of the GDPR, reliance on the repealed UK Data Protection Act 1998, and a stated 100 EUR fee for a subject access request
- No DPA, no subprocessor list, no security or trust page, and no declared hosting country or region
- No API or SDK, so nothing can be automated or connected to a practice management system
- No named scanner, printer or trimming machine partner, no support email address and no about or legal notice page; company details appear only on the contact page and inside the licence agreement
Pricing & Plans
There is no permanent free plan for Ortho Studio itself. The Pay-Per-Use licence is free to hold and ships with one pre-loaded work case for testing, and the read-only Dental Studio Expert Viewer is free and permanent, but every further work case consumes credits. The published entry price is 9.95 EUR per credit; an Ortho Studio Basic case costs five credits, that is roughly 49.75 EUR for both arches, and the price is the same whether one or two arches are treated. Adjacent modules cost 1.5 credits for Indirect Bonding, 1.5 for Aligner Trimming, 1.5 for Bite, 2 for Appliance and 2 for each Smile Creator configuration. Credits are paid by card, PayPal or bank transfer. The Expert Licence, which lifts all case and export limits and includes one year of Expert Mode, is quoted on request or through an authorised reseller. The optional Maestro 3D Cloud is billed separately at about 1 EUR per month per case held simultaneously.
- free to hold
- no dongle
- installable on several workstations at once
- each work case is paid in credits from 9.95 EUR per credit
- with Ortho Studio Basic at 5 credits per case
- all updates and Expert functions included
- one pre-loaded case supplied
- cases stored locally
- price on request or through an authorised reseller
- unlimited cases and unlimited exports
- USB dongle
- one workstation at a time
- one year of Expert Mode included
- renewable annually for a fee
- can be linked to the cloud service
- annual renewal that keeps access to remote AI computing servers
- automatic IPR
- automatic attachment placement
- transition and printable models
- the AI cutting line
- continuous updates and direct technical support
- optional add-on billed on the number of work cases held simultaneously
- around 1 EUR per month per case
- including credits
- a Server OEM add-on adds brand colours
- logo and a custom domain
- free and permanent
- for reviewing cases
- running treatment animations and
- when the lab enables it
- editing a case without export rights
Data, GDPR & hosting
A consolidated view of how Maestro 3D Ortho Studio handles your data.
GDPR overview
There is no mention of the GDPR anywhere on the site. Neither the privacy policy nor the licence agreement refers to Regulation 2016/679, to a legal basis, to a data protection officer or to a data processing agreement. The privacy policy, last updated on 1 January 2024, instead invokes the UK Data Protection Act 1998, a repealed British statute, and announces that a subject access request may attract a fee of 100 euros, which the GDPR does not permit as a rule. It grants a right to object to marketing and to have inaccurate data corrected, both handled at info@maestro3d.com, and says data may be transferred inside or outside the EEA. The publisher is established in Italy, so no Article 27 representative is required. The template plainly has not been adapted to the publisher's own jurisdiction.
Who owns the data?
The end user licence agreement states that all rights, including intellectual property rights, in the Maestro 3D software belong to AGE Solutions S.r.l. and its licensors. The agreement claims nothing over the clinical cases the customer creates: work cases are stored locally on the customer's own PC under both the Expert and the Pay-Per-Use licences, and a purchased Pay-Per-Use case stays usable indefinitely. When a case is removed from the optional Maestro 3D Cloud, the vendor states the data remains in the local database on the user's computer. Neither the agreement nor the privacy policy contains an explicit clause assigning ownership of patient records, so the point is simply not addressed in writing.
Reuse rights
Nothing in the licence restricts what the customer may do with the models and reports produced in the software: files are exported in open formats such as STL, PLY and OBJ, cutting lines in PTS, and a purchased Pay-Per-Use case carries no time limit and no cap on the number of exports. Permission is therefore not required to reuse one's own output. Use of the software itself is narrower: it may only serve the purposes described in the official product documentation, a single Expert Licence runs on one workstation at a time through its USB dongle, and only one backup copy of the program may be made. In the other direction, clause 2.2.6 has the software send the serial number, IP address and PC hardware identifier back to the vendor automatically, together with performance and usage telemetry, which the vendor may use for product development and regulatory purposes in anonymised form.
Data retention & training
Hosting summary
The publisher does not state where customer data is hosted. The privacy policy only says that data may be transferred to and stored at a destination inside or outside the European Economic Area, and may be handled by staff of suppliers located inside or outside the EEA, which commits to no jurisdiction at all. No hosting country, region, provider or subprocessor is named, and there is no security or trust page. Architecturally, most data stays on the customer's own machine: work cases are stored locally on the user's PC under both licences, and when a case is deleted from the optional Maestro 3D Cloud the publisher says the local copy remains. Some processing does leave the workstation, since Expert Mode routes part of the computation to the publisher's remote servers, whose location is not disclosed. For completeness, the website itself resolves to an Amazon Web Services address in Paris, France, but that describes the hosting of the marketing site and is not a statement by the publisher about where customer or patient data lives.
Things to keep in mind
Risks and trade-offs to weigh before adopting Maestro 3D Ortho Studio.
- Clinical responsibility stays entirely with the practitioner: the licence agreement states that the software does not check whether a visualised tooth movement can actually be carried out, nor whether attempting it could damage the patient's teeth or jaw
- A confusing pair of claims sits side by side, since the product is CE MDR certified while every page footer states that features labelled as AI are not intended for medical use; clarify which functions are covered before relying on them clinically
- Automation invites over-trust: zero-click segmentation, automatic IPR and automatic attachment placement all produce plausible results quickly, and skipping the manual review that the software still offers is the obvious way to industrialise a mistake
- The advertised price is per credit, not per case; reading 9.95 EUR as the cost of a treatment understates an Ortho Studio Basic case by a factor of five
- Expert Mode is a dependency, not an option: without renewal the advanced functions stop, updates stop, and the software itself stops after two years
- Data governance is undocumented, with no GDPR reference, no processing agreement, no subprocessor list and no stated hosting jurisdiction, while the software silently transmits serial number, IP address, hardware identifier and usage telemetry to the publisher
- Support runs through a web form only, with no support email address and no published response commitment, which is worth testing before a production deadline depends on it
Setup & Integrations
Technical difficulty
Moderate on the technical side, demanding on the professional one. Installation runs through a registration form and an emailed link; the Expert Licence then needs a USB dongle, serial number and product key, while the Pay-Per-Use licence creates credentials at the first credit purchase and installs on several machines. The real prerequisites are a Windows workstation with at least 16 GB of RAM and a dedicated NVIDIA card, a permanent internet connection, and genuine orthodontic competence: setup, IPR, staging and attachment strategy remain clinical decisions. A multilingual wiki, video tutorials, a forum and twelve help articles shorten the learning curve.
Deployment
Supported languages
Behind Maestro 3D Ortho Studio
Social
Resources
All the official URLs gathered for verification and reference.
Frequently asked questions
What exactly is Maestro 3D Ortho Studio?
How does the automatic tooth segmentation work?
How much does it cost to design one case?
Can I try it before paying?
Which scanners and 3D printers are supported?
What hardware and operating system do I need?
Is there an API?
What happens if I stop renewing Expert Mode?
Is the cloud service compulsory?
Is the software certified for clinical use?
Should you pick Maestro 3D Ortho Studio?
Maestro 3D Ortho Studio is a mature, deliberately narrow tool. It does one thing, digital clear aligner planning, and it does it end to end: scan repair, AI segmentation, virtual setup, transition models, printable models and automatic cutting lines, all inside a single Windows application built by an Italian publisher that has worked this market since the late 2000s. The AI claims are specific and checkable rather than decorative, the file formats are open at both ends, and the product carries CE MDR certification with the certificate available for download.
Its most unusual quality is commercial. In a segment where nearly every vendor answers with a quotation, Maestro 3D publishes a unit price: 9.95 EUR per credit, five credits for an Ortho Studio Basic case. The Pay-Per-Use licence costs nothing to hold, installs on several workstations and never expires on a purchased case, which makes the tool unusually easy to trial and to scale with real volume rather than with seats.
The reservations are just as concrete. The software is Windows-only and hardware-hungry. A meaningful share of the automation sits behind the Expert Mode subscription, and letting that subscription lapse eventually stops the software altogether. There is no API. Above all, the legal and privacy documentation lags well behind the engineering: the privacy policy never mentions the GDPR, leans on a repealed British statute and announces a fee for a subject access request, while no DPA, subprocessor list or hosting disclosure exists. None of that proves non-compliance, but a buyer subject to European data protection duties should ask for written answers before signing.
For a laboratory or practice with steady aligner volume, already equipped for scanning and printing, this is a serious and fairly priced option. For anyone needing integration or documented data governance, the gaps are worth weighing first.
- Choosing a selection results in a full page refresh.
- Opens in a new window.